Are Milky Ways gluten free or not? The bad news is that the short answer is no.
Read this article to learn why this favorite candy bar is not gluten free, what in their ingredients makes them not gluten-free, and how to make your own gluten free Milky Way chocolate bars at home.
I really thought there was no way Milky Way would have gluten or any type of gluten ingredient. I mean come on get real, it’s just Carmel, nougat, and chocolate, right? There are 3 varieties of Milky Way candy bars and I’m here to share you in this article which may or my not be safe to eat if your re on a gluten-free diet.
Table of Contents
- The 411 on Milky Way Candy Bar
- Which Milky Way Are Gluten-Free?
- Ingredients list for Milky Way Midnight Dark Chocolate Single Candy Bar
- Ingredients List for Milky Way Simply Caramel Milk Chocolate Fun Size Candy Bar
- Ingredients List for Milky Way Milk Chocolate Single Candy Bar
- Non gluten-containing ingredients
- Copy Cat Gluten Free Milky Way Recipes
- Gluten-Free Candy Resources
- Gluten-Free Resources By Eating Works
The 411 on Milky Way Candy Bar
Real quick before we get into the best part of the article, let’s look at the big picture. Mars Wrigley owns and operates Milky Way. They run several other varieties of candy. Those following mars candies include Mars Bar, Snickers Bars, Starburst Fruit Chews, Jelly Belly Jelly Beans, and 3 Musketeers Bars to just name a few.
Some of their candy does not contain gluten ingredients and some of their candy does. So if cross contamination is on your mind, your ears should perk up a bit.
Which Milky Way Are Gluten-Free?
Two out of the three varieties of Milky Way can be considered gluten free:
- Milky Way Midnight Dark Bars (GF)
- Milky Way caramel bars (GF)
- Original Milky Way Bars (NOT GF)
The original Milky Way chocolate bar is NOT gluten free. There is malted barley in their ingredient list. The Milkway midnight bars and Milkyway caramel varieties chocolate bars do not have gluten-containing ingredients such as the barley malt extract. That is a key distinction to remember.
Ingredients list for Milky Way Midnight Dark Chocolate Single Candy Bar
The ingredients list taken directly from the product label: SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, CHOCOLATE, COCOA BUTTER, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, NATURAL FLAVOR), CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, PALM OIL, SKIM MILK, LESS THAN 1.5% – MILKFAT, LACTOSE, SALT, EGG WHITES, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, CHOCOLATE.
Ingredients List for Milky Way Simply Caramel Milk Chocolate Fun Size Candy Bar
The ingredients list taken directly from the product label: MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, SKIM MILK, CHOCOLATE, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR), CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, PALM OIL, SKIM MILK, MILKFAT, LACTOSE, SALT, CHOCOLATE, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR.
Ingredients List for Milky Way Milk Chocolate Single Candy Bar
The ingredient list taken taken directly from the product label: MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, SKIM MILK, CHOCOLATE, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR), CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, PALM OIL, SKIM MILK, LESS THAN 2% – MILKFAT, COCOA POWDER PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, BARLEY MALT EXTRACT, LACTOSE, SALT, EGG WHITES, CHOCOLATE, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR.
Non gluten-containing ingredients
It is so important to remember that in the United States food industry, words have meaning. Milky Way does not certify their candy through a third party gluten-free certification organization such as the Gluten Intolerance Group. This would address any specific concerns.
So there is an risk or potential for cross contamination when this tasty treat being not certified. Also knowing that Mars produces numerous types of decadent candies with limited gluten-free options, it is a good idea to take that into consideration.
Use your best judgement. I’ve read that people with a celiac disease or a gluten allergy have not had issues with Milky Way candy bars, but it will come down to each individual’s personal requirements. Maybe one day we can get them to certify!
Copy Cat Gluten Free Milky Way Recipes
Paranoid about cross contamination? Would you prefer to cook versus going down the candy aisle at the super market? Check out these gluten free milky way copy cat recipes! Each gluten free recipe is made with natural flavors.
There are plenty of resources that can help you determine what to do in addition to what you have found here. I’ll include those resources below!
The short answer is through my research, the midnight and caramel Milky Way chocolate bar can be considered gluten free as they are made with gluten-free ingredients, However, the original Milky Way is definitely not gluten free.
You should take all of this into consideration when making the best decision for you and your loved ones.
Gluten-Free Candy Resources
- Gluten-Free Candy List from Celiac Disease Foundation
- Is Candy Gluten-Free? from Beyond Celiac
- Gluten-Free Candy: What Are My Options from Healthline
Leave a Reply