Are Snickers gluten-free or not? The good news is that the short answer is yes.
Snickers bars are gluten-free, but keep reading for a more in-depth look at the snickers chocolate bar and if it is safe for those with celiac disease and a gluten sensitivity.
This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you. See my Affiliate Disclosure to read my policy and more about affiliate links.
Who are Snickers made by?
Mars Incorporated makes Snickers bars. They are a large company located in McLean, Virginia in the United States that make the most popular candies.
Mars Inc owns Uncle Ben’s Rice, Pedigree, and many other food companies. Your favorite sweet treat is more than likely made by the parent company Mars Incorporated.
They make well known candies and chocolate bars such as Milky Way bars, Mars bars, M&Ms, Twix, and many others.
What are Snickers bars made of?
Snickers candy bar is a mix of chocolate and peanuts, but there are a few more ingredients. The ingredients taken directly from the ingredients list include Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milk fat, Soy Lecithin), Peanuts, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Skim Milk, Lactose, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial Flavor.
There is a nougat base, caramel layer, fished with a chocolate coating in there to create the perfect combination of salty and sweet. Creamy nougat is a common product in candy bars.
The crunchy peanuts layer is perfect for lovers of peanuts and perfect for those allergic to tree nuts, as peanuts are not a tree nut. There are other Snickers products, such as snickers ice cream bars, brownie Snickers, snickers dark chocolate bars, and many more. Not all of the flavors of snickers are gluten-free, so if you are on a gluten-free diet it is important to look at the allergy information, product label, and nutrition facts before eating.
Are Snickers gluten free?
It depends on the severity of your gluten allergy, but Snickers are not certified gluten-free. They do not contain any gluten ingredients, but there is not that certification. So, for those with celiac disease or a heightened gluten sensitivity, it may be best to avoid Snickers bars to avoid an allergic reaction because of cross contamination with gluten-containing products during the product formulation.
For more articles check out are milky ways gluten free, are twizzlers gluten free, is tomato soup gluten free, is ramen gluten free, is hummus gluten free, is salsa gluten free, is tomato paste gluten free, and is vanilla extract gluten free !
Are Snickers Ice Cream Bars gluten-free?
Unfortunately no, Snickers Ice Cream Bars are not gluten free.
While the bar itself doesn’t have gluten-containing ingredients , on the Snickers website you will see that the allergy information states: “Contains milk, peanut and soy. May contain wheat and tree nuts”.
Are Snickers Peanut Butter Brownie Square Chocolate Candy Bars gluten-free?
Snickers Peanut Butter Brownie Square Chocolate Candy Bars do not contain any gluten ingredients. On the Snickers website you will see the ingredient list which clearly states the ingredients as MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, CHOCOLATE, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN), CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, PEANUTS, CHOCOLATE, MILKFAT, SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, CHOCOLATE, COCOA BUTTER, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, NATURAL FLAVOR), LESS THAN 2% – COCOA POWDER PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, INVERT SUGAR, PALM OIL, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, SALT, EGG WHITES, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR. CONTAINS PEANUTS, MILK, EGG AND SOY. MAY CONTAIN TREE NUTS.
However this tasty sweet treat is not certified gluten-free. So if you have celiac disease or a heightened gluten sensitives you should avoid eating Snickers Peanut Brownie Square Chocolate Candy Bars.
Are Snickers Minis gluten-free?
A Snickers Mini candy bar does not contain any gluten ingredients. On the Snickers website, you will see the ingredient list which clearly states the ingredients as INGREDIENTS: MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, CHOCOLATE, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN), PEANUTS, CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, PALM OIL, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, SALT, EGG WHITES, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR. CONTAINS PEANUTS, MILK, EGG AND SOY. MAY CONTAIN TREE NUTS.
However this tasty sweet treat is not certified gluten-free. So if you have celiac disease or a heightened gluten sensitivities you should avoid eating Snickers Minis.
Are dark chocolate Snickers discontinued?
Unfortunately, yes. Snickers dark bars were discontinued in late 2014.
Other gluten-free candies!
Luckily, there are many gluten-free candies that can satisfy your sweet tooth. Make sure to do your research to ensure they are gluten-free products.
A popular candy or a brand name chocolate bar will have websites that have nutritional information/ allergen information or warnings about possible cross-contamination.
Here is a list of just a few of the many candies that are gluten-free:
- Baby Ruth
- Gummy bears (most brands of gummy bears)
- 3 Musketeers
- Laffy Taffy
- Jelly Beans
- Some flavors of Warheads (pay attention to the ingredients list)
- Tootsie Rolls
- M&Ms (except for those with pretzels, crisps, and seasonal items)
- Butterfingers (but not the Butterfinger Crisp)
- Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (except seasonal items)
- Swedish Fish
- Sour Patch Kids
Snickers gluten-free copycat recipes!
There are recipes out there for making your own homemade Snickers bars. This way, you are able to control what goes in them if you have severe gluten allergies or food allergies and they taste like the original snickers bar.
If you look online, you will be able to find recipes for homemade candy bars, so you can make your favorite candy bar.
Here are just some of my favorite gluten free snickers copycat recipes!
You might also like this gluten-free recipe Chocolate Truffles with Cashew Butter Filling!
Yes, Snickers bars are gluten-free. There are no gluten ingredients in Snickers bars, but that is always subject to change. While snickers bars contain gluten-free ingredients, they are not certified gluten free.
So if you have celiac disease or heightened gluten disease you should avoid consuming snickers products at all costs because of cross contamination risks.
Remember it is a good idea to keep an eye on the ingredient label and nutritional information of everything you eat because things always change.
Let me know in the comments if you find this helpful!