In this menu guide, I’ll highlight all the gluten-free options at Chipotle Mexican Grill. I will also address any common questions asked when ordering gluten free at Chipotle. In addition I’ll include copycat recipes you can make at home.
IF YOU HAVE CELIAC DISEASE OR A SEVERE GLUTEN ALLERGY YOU SHOULD NOT READ ON AND AVOID EATING AT THIS ESTABLISHMENT!
Chipotle is a well-known fast casual restaurant chain from America. Known for their lifestyle bowls, tacos, burritos, corn salsa and guacamole. Chipotle is a popular destination for many people. They have locations across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, and more.
This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you. See my Affiliate Disclosure to read my policy and more about affiliate links.
Table of Contents
- What’s gluten-free at Chipotle?
- Chipotle Gluten Free Menu
- Commonly asked questions ordering gluten-free food at Chipotle!
- Chipotle gluten free copycat recipes!
- Are Chipotle Chips Gluten Free?
- Is Chipotle Queso Gluten Free?
- Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at Chipotle
- What’s Keto At Chipotle? (Keto Menu Guide)
What’s gluten-free at Chipotle?
Chipotle has this statement about Gluten Intolerance and Celiac Disease on their Allergens page: ‘If you avoid gluten, don’t eat our flour tortillas. If you are highly sensitive to gluten and would like us to change our gloves, just let us know at the start of your order. You should be aware items containing corn, including corn tortillas (chips and crispy corn tortillas) and corn salsa, may have trace amounts of gluten from potentially co-mingling with gluten-containing grains in the field.’ You can view Chipotle’s allergen statement here.
WITH THE CROSS CONTAMINATION RISKS, THOSE WITH CELIAC DISEASE OR A SEVERE GLUTEN ALLERGY SHOULD AVOID EATING AT CHIPOTLE OR USE THEIR BEST JUDGMENT ON WHAT TO EAT AT THE RESTAURANT!
Want to learn more nutrition and allergen facts about Chipotle’s foods? Check out their Nutrition Calculator. You can use their Nutrition Calculator to filter out all Chipotle menu items with gluten, soy, dairy, and other food allergies.
Chipotle Gluten Free Menu
These are all the gluten free options I could find at Chipotle. Note all food products listed below do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients, based on Chipotle’s Extensive Allergen Guide. Please note these food items still have a high risk of cross contamination and other traces of gluten, so please keep that in mind.
Sides And Toppings
These are all of the other toppings/sides at Chipotle that do not contain gluten ingredients.
- Tortilla Chipotle Chips
- Queso Blanco
- Crispy Corn Tortilla
- Monterey Jack Cheese
- Sour Cream**
** Both guacamole and sour cream may come into contact with gluten burrito shells more often. Please keep that chance of cross-contamination in mind.
Beans and Salsas
These are all of the salsa and bean options at Chipotle that do not contain gluten ingredients.
- Black Beans
- Pinto Beans
- Fresh Tomato Salsa
- Roasted Chili-Corn Salsa
- Tomatillo Green-Chili Salsa
- Tomatillo Red-Chili Salsa
- Chipotle-Honey Vinaigrette
Rice and Vegetables
These are all of the vegetable and rice options at Chipotle that do not contain gluten ingredients.
- Cilantro-Lime Cauliflower Rice
- Cilantro-Lime Brown Rice
- Cilantro-Lime White Rice
- Fajita Veggies
- Romaine Lettuce
- Supergreens Lettuce Blend
These are all of the protein options at Chipotle that do not contain gluten ingredients. Make sure to order all of these individual foods without the taco shell or burrito shell and tell the Chipotle employees you have an gluten/ wheat allergy so they prepare your food separately in a bowl (and change gloves).
- Carne Asada
- Pork Carnitas
Commonly asked questions ordering gluten-free food at Chipotle!
Yes! The pinto beans at Chiptole are one of many good options to order for beans and salsa if you are on a gluten-free diet.
After a test run at a chipotle location in Denver and Indianopolis last year, the Plant-Based Chorizo was officially released earlier this year. Only offered at certain chipotle locations for a limited time, this food item is certified vegan, packed with 16 grams of protein per 4oz serving, and is made without artificial flavors, colors, preservatives, grains, gluten, or soy. Make sure to check your local chipotle to see if the plant-based chorizo is offered on the main menu!
Fortunately, just about everything on Chipotle’s menu is gluten free – except for the flour wraps. However there is a high risk of cross-contamination with all of their food items. So if you do not have a non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you should avoid eating at chipotle or proceed with extreme caution.
The Barbacoa has always been the juiciest Chipotle protein, and it’s still the juiciest, but the pollo asado is equally tender, and much more savory. It’s perfectly marinated fresh meat chicken in a blend of zesty citrus and earthy achiote and black pepper, which truly makes it taste like nothing else at Chipotle.
Taken directly from chipotles website, food items containing corn, including corn tortillas (chips and crispy corn tortilla tacos) and corn salsa, may have trace amounts of gluten from potentially co-mingling with gluten-containing grains in the field. So no, chipotles chips are not safe for celiacs.
Chipotle gluten free copycat recipes!
Can’t eat at chipotle because of the cross contamination risks? Or are you simply on a gluten-free diet and just love to cook? Check out these chipotle gluten free copycat recipes!
This easy copycat Chipotle sofritas is just like the restaurant’s, healthy, and full of flavor. It has the perfect amount of spice and would be delicious in a burrito bowl or your own burrito. Making takeout at home never seemed easier and will save you a few bucks as well!
Craving a Chipotle Chicken burrito bowl? Now you can make this copycat Chipotle Chicken recipe at home at a reasonable price with fresh inredients you can find at your grocery store!
A copycat recipe of Chipotle restaurant queso blanco. It makes a great gluten free dip for corn chips.
Learn how to make the best barbacoa meat for your make your own burritos! If you like barbacoa beef, you’ll love this copycat Chipotle barbacoa recipe in a slow cooker — it’s easy, healthy, and fall-apart delicious.
Take your Mexican gluten-free meal the next level with this simple and fresh Pico de Gallo. You are going to love this copycat Chipotle salsa recipe.
Are Chipotle chips gluten free? Quick answer: Yes Chipotle chips are completely gluten-free! These popular chips are made from corn (which is a naturally gluten-free grain) and are also cooked in a dedicated gluten-free fryer. Despite the low chance of contamination when it comes to their tortilla chips, the chance is still there. Those with celiac disease and high gluten sensitivity should keep that in mind and proceed with caution!
Is Chipotle queso gluten free? Quick answer: Yes. all side items at Chipotle are gluten-free including the queso dip.
Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at Chipotle
Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Chipotle
- Rice bowls and salads are great options for gluten-free eaters with low risk for cross-contamination.
- Tell the staff members you have an gluten allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your meal (use fresh gloves, switch to clean serving spoons, etc).
- Use Chipotle’s nutrition calculator to help decide what to order. It is a great way to filter out all Chipotle menu items with gluten, soy, dairy, and other food allergies.
In this menu guide, I’ll be highlighting the best things you can order when you are eating keto at Chipotle Mexican Grill. From sides to the main courses, it’s easy to eat low-carb at one of America’s best fast food restaurants.