This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you. See my Affiliate Disclosure to read my policy and more about affiliate links.
Table of Contents
- Why You’ll Love This Gluten Free Ramen Recipe
- Ingredients And Substitutions For Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Recipe
- How to Make This Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Recipe
- Are Ramen Noodles Gluten Free?
- How to Store and Serve Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Soup
- More Gluten Free Soup Recipes to Try
- Are All Ramen Noodles Gluten Free
- What are the Best Gluten Free Ramen Noodles?
- What other noodles can I use?
- What are Low Carb or Grain Free Ramen Noodle Substitutions
- Is Ramen Soup Supposed to be Salty?
- Can I Add Protein to Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Soup
GF Miso ramen was inspired by my favorite Miso Soup Recipe that I’ve been making every week since 2015. I learned this recipe from my macrobiotic teacher at the Natural Gourmet Institute, Elliot Prag. Chef Pragg (an accomplished macrobiotic chef and author) learned this recipe from the Kushi Institute. Which was the most well respected macrobiotic healing institution of its time.
Since my daughter loves noodles, I wanted to make a vegan and gluten free version with a meatier flavor (which is typical of ramen) with gluten free noodles. I don’t like noodles but I always add low carb kelp noodles for myself.
When I was testing this recipe I brought it over to my mother’s house. She was sick at the time and I received TONS of positive feedback. I know you’ll love it.
Why You’ll Love This Gluten Free Ramen Recipe
- Quick and Easy To Make
- Gluten Free
- Paleo Friendly
- Plant Based
- Great for Work and School Lunches
- Can be Low Carb and Keto Friendly
Ingredients And Substitutions For Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Recipe
- Toasted Sesame Oil
- Dried Shiitake Mushrooms
- Garlic Cloves
- Gluten Free Tamari
- Mellow White Miso
- Nutritional Yeast
- Dried Cilantro
- Gluten Free Ramen Noodles
Ingredient Substitutions for this Gluten Free Ramen Recipe:
Nutritional Yeast: You can use bullion cubes instead.
Carrots: If you prefer not to eat carrots, try using daikon radish instead.
Gluten Free Tamari: You can use gluten free soy sauce instead.
How to Make This Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Recipe
- In a medium sized pot heat the oil. Add the kombu, mushrooms, onion and garlic. Sauté over medium low heat until the onions are translucent. Then, add the carrots and celery, continue to sauté for another few minutes.
- Add tamari, miso paste, and water. Whisk until the miso is dissolved. Add some lemon juice, nutritional yeast and cilantro. Bring the soup to a simmer for 10-15 minutes. Add the gluten free noodles and cook for another four minutes. Stir to break apart the noodles. Serve immediately.
Are Ramen Noodles Gluten Free?
No, traditional ramen noodles are not gluten free since their main ingredient is wheat flour. The broth is usually full of gluten as well since it contains soy sauce which is made from wheat. Generally speaking, ramen noodle soup is one of the worst meals someone on a gluten free diet could eat. It’s right up there with wheat based breads and cakes!
For more detailed information on gluten free ramen noodle options, what ingredients to look out for when eating ramen on a gluten free diet and for 50 brands of gluten free ramen noodles check out this article I wrote, “Is Ramen Gluten Free?”
How to Store and Serve Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Soup
Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Soup is so versatile you can serve it many ways. My favorite way is to put it in a thermos to eat as a lunch on the go.
Ramen is great for people who like to meal prep because you can make the broth in advance and store it in individual servings in a a thermos or mason jar. When you’re ready to eat the ramen simply heat up the water and drop a “cake” of gluten free ramen noodles in the jar and let it steep for 3 minutes. The noodles will soften and then you can enjoy fresh ramen for lunch!
If you want to make the whole soup in advance you can do that as well. The noodles will retain their structure for up to 5 days in the fridge. You can cook this recipe once and get 4 lunches out of it.
Change up ramen noodle soup by adding different types of vegetables or protein like:
- Bok Choy
- Poached Egg
More Gluten Free Soup Recipes to Try
- Gluten Free Miso Soup
- Gluten Free Mushroom Soup
- Gluten Free Tomato Soup
- Carrot Sweet Potato Soup
- Broccoli Cheddar Soup
- Pea Soup With Thyme
- Curried Cauliflower Soup
Are All Ramen Noodles Gluten Free
No, traditional ramen noodles are not gluten free since their main ingredient is wheat flour. The broth is usually full of gluten as well since it’s usually made with soy sauce, which is made from wheat. Ramen noodle soup is one of the worst meals someone on a gluten free diet could eat because the broth and noodles are filled with tons of gluten.
But it’s so delicious! So if you want to enjoy ramen without ingesting gluten, fear not! Just because you’re gluten free doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy gluten free ramen noodles. There are plenty of gluten free noodles on the market along with different types of GF broth you can make. Including the recipe below!
What are the Best Gluten Free Ramen Noodles?
The best gluten free ramen noodles for soup are Organic Millet & Brown Rice Ramen by Lotus Foods. The millet flour gives the noodles good structure, they’re soft but don’t get mushy. I couldn’t even tell the difference between these and regular ramen noodles.
What other noodles can I use?
- Rice Noodles
- Kelp Noodles
- Soba Noodles (made from buckwheat flour)
- Gluten Free Spaghetti Pasta
- Shirataki Noodles
- Vegetable Noodles
- Glass Noodles (made from mung beans)
What are Low Carb or Grain Free Ramen Noodle Substitutions
While gluten free ramen noodles are great for those following a gluten free diet. What if you’re eating low carb and gluten free because you’re following a diet like Keto? There are still plenty of gluten free ramen noodle alternatives you can try that are also low in carbs.
Kelp Noodles: are low carb noodles made from kelp! They’re commonly used in Korean and vegan cooking.
Is Ramen Soup Supposed to be Salty?
Most ramen soup recipes are made with ingredients that are high in sodium like soy sauce, bouillon cubes and miso paste. So yes ramen is supposed to taste salty. But it shouldn’t be so salty that it doesn’t taste good.
Ramen broth is hard to make because it takes a lot of time and ingredients to a build good flavor base. Most quick ramen recipes use tons of salt to build the flavor up instead of using other ingredients like vegetables and nutritional yeast to create authentic umami flavor. This is especially true for instant ramen which is very high in sodium.
If your ramen noodle soup is too salty you can add more water to dilute the sodium and add more acid like vinegar or lemon juice.
Can I Add Protein to Gluten Free Ramen Noodle Soup
Yes! Adding protein to gluten free ramen noodle soup is a great way to make it a more filling main course. Plenty of different types of protein work well with ramen including eggs, chicken and sea food.
Types of protein that go well with gluten free ramen noodle soup:
- Hard Boiled Eggs
There are many different types of ramen broth but generally speaking ramen broth is made up of chicken or pork stock combined with vegetables, miso, shoyu, seafood, Kombu and meat. Sometimes a sauce called tare is used to flavor the broth as well.
The combination of stock and other ingredients are broken down into four main flavors called Miso, Shoyu, Kare, and Shio. This information was sourced from wikipedia.
Yes! Ramen can be made gluten free by avoiding ingredients that contain wheat and replacing them with gluten free items with a similar taste. For example, instead of using soy sauce you can use gluten free Tamari for the broth and for the noodles you can use gluten free ramen noodles or another type of gluten free noodle like soba, buckwheat, vegetable, glass, kelp or rice noodles.
Instead of regular ramen noodles you can use gluten free ramen noodles that are made with rice flour or millet flower. You can also use other types of gluten free noodles that are commonly used in Asian cuisine including rice, kelp, soba, gluten free spaghetti, shirataki, vegetable or glass noodles.
Traditional miso ramen is not gluten free. But miso itself is gluten free so if the miso ramen broth doesn’t contain soy sauce or other wheat ingredients then it is also gluten free.
It’s best to ask for a list of ingredients before assuming miso ramen is gluten free. The miso ramen broth I made for this gluten free miso soup is gluten free because it doesn’t contain soy sauce or any other wheat based ingredients.
Gluten Free Ramen
- Soup Pot
- Cutting Board
- 2 tbsp Toasted Sesame Oil
- 1 piece Kombu
- 3 Dried Shiitake Mushrooms
- 1 Onion saute slice
- 2 cloves Garlic thinly slice
- 1-2 Carrots thinly slice
- 1 stalk Celery thinly slice
- 1/4 C Gluten Free Tamari
- 1/4 C Mellow White Miso
- 4 C Water
- 1 Lemon juiced
- 1/4 C Nutritional Yeast
- 1 tbsp Dried Cilantro
- 1 cake Gluten Free Ramen Noodles
- In a medium sized pot heat oil. Add kombu, mushrooms, onion and garlic. Sauté until the onion is translucent. Add the carrots and celery and sauté for another few minutes.
- Add tamari, miso paste, and water. Whisk until the miso is desolved. Add lemon juice, nutritonal yeast and cilantro. Bring to a simmer for 10-15 minutes. Add noodles and cook for another four minutes. Stir to break apart the noodles. Serve immediately.