In this menu guide, I’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Burger King. I will also address any common questions asked when ordering gluten free at Burger King.
Established in 1954, Burger King is the second largest fast-food restaurant chains in the world. Known for their affordable food and food items like their Whopper, Burger King is one of the most popular fast-food restaurants in the United States and many other parts of the world. Because of this a lot of people with gluten allergies, a strong gluten sensitivity, or celiac disease are wondering what gluten free options one of the most popular fast-food chains has. Let’s find out in this menu guide.
This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you. See my Affiliate Disclosure to read my policy and more about affiliate links.
- What is gluten-free at Burger King?
- Burger King Gluten Free Menu
- Commonly asked questions ordering gluten-free at Burger King
- Summary Of Gluten-Free Menu Options At Burger King
- Other Gluten Free Menus Guides
What is gluten-free at Burger King?
In this menu guide, I’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Burger King. Want to learn more allergen facts about Burger King’s foods? Check out their Allergens PDF.
On their Allergens PDF, Burger King shares the statement: ‘We recommend that you always consult your doctor for questions regarding your diet as Burger King Corporation, its franchisees and employees, do not assume responsibility for a person’s sensitivity or allergy to food provided in our restaurants. The allergen information is updated regularly. Please note that normal kitchen operations may involve some shared cooking and preparation areas and utensils, and the possibility exists that your food items may come in contact with other food products, including other allergens. Products fried in a shared fryer include but may not be limited to: Fish Filet, Pork Sausage, Crispy Chicken Patty, Chicken Nuggets, Original Chicken Patty, Spicy Original Chicken Patty, Hash Browns, French Fries, French Toast Sticks and Onion Rings. In Hawaii, Portuguese Sausage and Spam are also fried in a shared fryer. Our fryer oil contains: corn, canola, soy and/or cottonseed oils.’
On their Food Quality pages, Burger King shares ‘Our beef patties are made with 100% beef with no fillers, no preservatives, no additives, no nonsense. We also make our flagship product, the Whopper Sandwich, with 1/4 lb* of savory flame-grilled beef. Now that’s a beefy sandwich. *Based on pre-cooked patty weight.’ They also share, ‘Every single time you order a Whopper Sandwich, we freshly prepare it just for you. Extra cheese, no mayo, cut in half, extra hot. It is prepared to order just for you, always your way.’
Burger King Gluten Free Menu
Here are all the gluten free options I could find at Burger King. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on Burger King’s Allergen Menu PDF found on their official website. These items still have the likely risk of cross-contact contamination and other traces of gluten, so please keep that in mind.
These are all of the salads at Burger King that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- Garden Fresh Salad (side salad)
These are all of the taco options at Burger King that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- Crispy Taco
These are all of the sandwich options at Burger King that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients. Make sure to order any of these delicious burgers without the hamburger buns.
- Bacon Cheeseburger
- Whopper Jr.
- Double Whopper
Sides, condiments, and more!
These are all of the sides, condiments, and other items at Burger King that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- Famous Fries **
- Apple slices
- American Cheese
- Strawberry or Grape Jam
- Barbecue Dipping Sauce
- Ranch Dipping Sauce
- Buffalo Dipping Sauce
- Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce
- Tartar Sauce
** Indicates shared fryer with gluten-containing foods. There is a cross contamination risk!
These are all of the desserts at Burger King that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients. Shakes may come into contact with gluten ingredients from shared equipment.
- Caramel Ice Cream Sundae
- HERSHEY’S Chocolate Fudge Ice Cream Sundae
- HERSHEY’S Chocolate Hand Spun Ice Cream Shake
- Strawberry Shakes
- Vanilla Shakes
- Mott’s Natural Applesauce
Coffee and Beverages
These are all of the coffee and beverage options at Burger King that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- BK Cafe Coffee
- BK Cafe Decaf Coffee
- BK Cafe Caramel Frappe
- BK Cafe Iced Mocha Coffee
- BK Cafe Iced Vanilla Coffee
- BK Cafe Mocha Frappe
- Fat Free Milk
- Low Fat Chocolate Milk
- Capri Sun Apple Juice
- Coca Cola
- Diet Coke
- Iced Tea
- Dr Pepper
- Frozen Fanta Cherry ICEE
- Minute Maid Orange Juice
- Minute Made Lemonade
- Mello Yellow
- Frozen Coke
- Frosted Frozen Coke
Commonly asked questions ordering gluten-free at Burger King
Are Burger King fries gluten-free?
According to Burger King’s allergen menu, Burger King French fries are also cooked in a shared fryer (not a separate fryer), meaning they have a high risk of cross contamination with gluten ingredients. These French fries are not safe for those with gluten food allergies and wheat flour allergy.
Does Burger King have a gluten-free bun?
In some countries, Burger King offers a gluten-free bun option, but it hasn’t made its way to US locations just yet. So if you eat at a us-based burger king and your on a gluten-free diet make sure to order bunless burgers only!
Is the impossible whopper gluten-free?
As described on their official website the impossible whopper is a a flame-grilled, plant-based patty with juicy tomatoes, crisp lettuce, creamy mayonnaise, ketchup, crunchy pickles, and sliced white onions on a toasted sesame seed bun. So if you remove the sesame seed bun, its one of the best gluten-free meals you can order at BK!
Are Burger King patties gluten-free?
Burger King doesn’t have a lot of gluten-free options. Some of their ingredients, even a few of the patties used on their burger patties are gluten-free but they use shredded lettuce. This essentially means if you want to order a gluten-free burger, you’ll be getting all the ingredients minus the bun. You can transform the lettuce though and make it a lettuce wrap!
Are Burger King sausage patties gluten-free?
Burger King does have gluten free breakfast options. The Burger King breakfast items that are gluten free include their omelet and their sausage patties.
Summary Of Gluten-Free Menu Options At Burger King
Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Burger King.
- Tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your meal.
- The crispy taco is 100 percent gluten free!
- Burger King doesn’t have many other gluten-free menu items. A good choice for gluten free fast food options would be fast food restaurants like Wendys or Chick Fil A. And I will have those gluten free menu guides coming soon 🙂
Other Gluten Free Menus Guides
- Panera gluten free menu guide 2023
- Panda Express gluten free menu guide 2023
- Jack In The Box gluten free menu guide 2023
Leave a Reply