Eating Works » Gluten Free Info » Is Tomato Paste Gluten Free

Is Tomato Paste Gluten Free

People always ask me, “Is Tomato Paste is Gluten Free?” With so many people asking I thought I should write a post about it. And the quick answer is yes. Almost all tomato paste is naturally gluten free, even if it doesn’t say it on the label. Now let me tell you why.

This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you. See my Affiliate Disclosure to read my policy and more about affiliate links.

Table of Contents

What Is Tomato Paste Exactly?

Tomato paste is made of concentrated tomatoes. It’s prepared by cooking tomatoes, straining out the seeds and skin, then cooking them some more until there’s nothing left but a thick paste of concentrated tomato goodness.

The paste is sold in small portions because it’s flavor is intense. Just like other concentrated ingredients. Therefore, a little goes a long way. So you only need a few grams to add lots of flavor.

Tomatoes have umami flavor which is diluted by the water inside of them. The less water a tomato has the more flavorful it is.

Pro Tip: I always buy smaller tomatoes at the supermarket. The smaller the tomato is the more flavorful it will be.

Cooking off the water from the tomato is what intensifies the flavor. That’s why tomato sauce is more flavorful than raw tomatoes, it has less water.

Tomato paste is sold in small cans or tubes. I like buying tomato paste in a tube because it’s more economical. A tube of tomato paste can be resealed after you use some. Unlike a can which cannot be resealed after it had been opened.

Unfortunately whatever tomato paste is left over will spoil and needs to be thrown out after 5-7 days. Even though tomato paste cans are small, recipes rarely ever call for the entire can. Most recipes use anywhere from a 1/2 teaspoon to a few tablespoons at most.

Is Tomato Paste Gluten Free?

Most brands of tomato paste are naturally gluten free even if it doesn’t say so on the package. The only reason tomato paste would NOT be gluten free is if seasoning containing wheat gluten protein is added.

Why Do Some Tomato Paste Brands Have Gluten?

Even though tomato paste is naturally gluten free, some brands contain added seasoning. Sometimes the added seasoning contains wheat flour, otherwise known as wheat gluten portions. Products labeled gluten free legally have to prove they contain less than 200ppm gluten content. Many tomato paste manufacturers don’t label their tomato paste as gluten free because they think it’s obvious.

The safest way to ensure that you’re using gluten free tomato paste is to buy one that is labeled gluten free. However, to figure out if tomato paste is gluten free or not all you have to do is check the ingredient list for anything that contains wheat. If you see wheat listed, it isn’t gluten free.

When in doubt buy plain (unseasoned) tomato paste to be safe.

Is Heinz Tomato Paste Gluten Free?

Heinz tomato paste is gluten free however it isn’t labeled gluten free. But after careful inspection of the ingredients it is. The only ingredient in Heinz’s tomato paste is tomato.

Is Tomato Paste Healthy?

If you don’t need to avoid tomatoes due to severe cases of kidney disease, arthritis, bowel disorders or allergies, it’s good for you! Among other benefits, it’s a great source of vitamin C, B vitamins, Iron and Potassium. Consuming tomatoes is also linked to reduced risk of sunburn! Tomato paste is also full of antioxidants. According to Livestrong magazine.

What is the Purpose of Tomato Paste

The reason tomato paste is commonly used to cook Italian dishes is to inexpensively intensify the flavor of soups, stews and sauces. This yummy paste is the most concentrated source of tomatoes out of all of the different kinds of non-fresh tomato products.

The best way to get the most flavor out of your tomato paste is to caramelize it. You can caramelize tomato paste by frying it in fat until it turns golden brown and sticks to the pan. Then deglaze the pan to release the tomato paste from the pan. If you don’t cook your tomato paste it wont taste as good! Because uncooked tomato paste tastes and smells like raw tomatoes.

What Is Tomato Paste Equivalent To?

If you don’t have tomato paste you can swap it out for tomato sauce or crushed tomatoes. Use 3 tablespoons of tomato sauce or crushed tomatoes for every 1 tablespoon of tomato paste.

What Is The Difference Between Tomato Sauce and Tomato Paste?

The main difference between tomato paste and tomato sauce is that tomato sauce is less concentrated than tomato paste. Sauce contains more liquid so the tomato flavor isn’t as concentrated. Tomato paste is often used to flavor tomato sauce.

Tomato sauce is also flavored with ingredients other than tomatoes while tomato paste’s only ingredient are tomatoes.

Therefore, tomato sauce is a recipe while tomato paste is an ingredient.

7 Best Organic & Gluten Free Tomato Paste Brands

Hlthpunk Organic Tomato Double Concentrate

While Hlthpunk tomato paste doesn’t officially say that it’s gluten free on the label, I reached out to the company directly to ask. Luckily they confirmed that their tomato paste is gluten free.

  1. Organic
  2. Gluten Free
  3. Packaged in a Tube
  4. Moderately Affordable 6.00 Dollars Per Jar
  5. Great Taste
  6. Longer Shelf Life

BioNature 100% Organic Tomato Paste

BioNature Organic Tomato Paste is an excellent choice for a few reasons including:

  1. Organic
  2. Packaged in Glass Resealable Jar
  3. Labeled Gluten Free
  4. Great Taste
  5. Affordable at 2.99 Dollars Per Jar
  6. Lasts for 4 Weeks In The Fridge After Opening

Muir Glen Organic Tomato Paste

Muir Glen Organic Tomato Paste is a great choice if you are planning on using 6oz within a week of opening the can. Canned tomato paste only lasts in the fridge for 5-7 days after it has been opened. So if you only need a tablespoon or two you’re better off buying one packaged in a tube. Because tubed tomato paste will last for 4 weeks after it has been opened. Muir Glen’s tomato paste is as great choice because of the following reasons:

  1. Organic
  2. Affordable at 1.74 Dollars Per Jar
  3. Labeled Gluten Free

Cento Tomato Paste

Cento is a big name brand that can be found in any supermarket across the United States. And at an affordable price of .99 cents per can or 2.39 dollars per tube. Therefore, making it a great choice for for gluten free people anywhere on a tight budget.

  1. Labeled Gluten Free
  2. Most Affordable

Sprouts Organic Tomato Paste

Sprouts Organic Tomato Paste is another great choice because it’s:

  1. Organic
  2. Gluten Free
  3. Comes In A Tube
  4. Affordable Priced .99 Cents

Amore Tomato Paste

Amore Tomato Paste has a bright zesty flavor perfect for all of you’re gluten free cooking needs because it’s:

  1. Gluten Free
  2. Packaged In A Tube

Keep in mind Amore is packaged in a facility that processes nuts.

Red Gold Tomato Paste

Red gold Tomato Paste is a great choice because it’s officially free of all 8 common allergens including gluten.

  1. Labeled Gluten Free

Who Should Avoid Eating Tomato Paste?

Tomato paste is safe for almost anyone to eat since you only need to use it in small quantities. However tomato paste can aggravate certain conditions like allergies, IBS, kidney disease and joint pain.

  1. Allergies: Tomato paste is naturally high in histamines and act as a liberator to your body’s naturally occurring histamines. If you are allergic to tomatoes then eating tomato paste could cause an allergic reaction.
  2. Acid Reflux: If you suffer from GERD or acid reflux then tomato paste could aggravate your symptoms because it’s very acidic.
  3. Kidney Disease: People with advanced kidney disease need to avoid consuming potassium. Tomato paste has 162 mg of potassium per tablespoon. Patients with compromised kidney function need to limit their daily potassium intake to less than 3000 mg per day. Even more potassium restriction could be necessary depending on the severity of kidney damage.
  4. Irritable Bowel Syndrome: Tomatoes are one of the worst vegetables to eat if you have IBS. If you have intestinal inflammation or if you are constipated, don’t eat a lot of tomato paste.
  5. Arthritis: If you suffer from arthritis or severe joint pain then tomatoes can make your symptoms worse! Tomatoes are high in solanine. Solanine causes calcium to build up in your joints. This build up leads to swelling, stiffness and pain.
What is tomato paste used for?

Tomato paste is used in moist Italian dishes like sauces, soups and stews to add tomato flavor and aroma inexpensively.

What are substitutes for tomato paste?

Substitutes for tomato paste include tomato sauce, crushed tomatoes and sundried tomatoes.

Is canned tomato paste gluten free?

Canned tomato paste is always gluten free unless it has been seasoned with wheat gluten proteins.

Tomato paste gluten free brands google web story!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *