Eating Works » Gluten Free Living » Gluten Free Menu Guides » McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Guide 2023

McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Guide 2023

Warning: Undefined variable $post in /home/customer/www/ on line 142

In this menu guide, I’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, desserts, drinks and other gf options available at Mcdonalds.

I will also address any common questions asked when ordering gluten free Mcdonald’s food.

gluten free McDonalds menu guide 2022

Quick Summery: McDonald’s is one of the least friendly gluten free fast food establishments. While they don’t claim to have any gluten free food on their menu. Some of their snacks are gluten free. If you’re in a pinch you can order plain ground beef as a gluten free snack.

This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you. See my Affiliate Disclosure to read my policy and more about affiliate links.

Table of Contents

So What is McDonald’s?

McDonald’s is the most popular fast-food restaurants in the world with hundreds and thousands of locations worldwide, serving billions!

What established in 1940 in San Bernardino California as a destination for drunk-eat cravings by a man named Maurice Mcdonald, is now one of the most popular brands with the most recognizable Golden Arches.

Make sure you check out my Burger King Gluten-Free Menu Guide!

What’s gluten-free at Mcdonald’s?

McDonald’s doesn’t have a lot of gluten-free products and has major cross-contamination issues. Please keep that in mind if you have Celiac Disease, a severe gluten allergy or gluten sensitivity, or deal with any life-threatening food allergies.

Also, keep in mind this menu guide is based off of information for the United States McDonald’s locations. McDonald’s uses different drink/ food items and ingredients worldwide, so you should check your local McDonald’s website to confirm what food items the fast-food chain serves near you.

Want to learn more nutritional information about McDonald’s foods? Check out their Potential Allergens & Food Sensitivities Guide here.

Mcdonalds Gluten Free Menu Options

These are all the gluten free options I could find at McDonald’s. Note all items listed below do not contain any gluten ingredients, based on the McDonald’s Menu.

These food items still have the potential for cross contamination and other traces of gluten because of McDonalds food preparation methods, so please keep that in mind.

Drinks and Beverages

These are all of the beverages at McDonald’s that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:

  • Milk / Chocolate Milk
  • Apple Juice
  • Sweet/Unsweet Tea
  • Coca Cola
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Sprite
  • Diet Coke
  • Minute Maid Premium Orange Juice
  • Minute Maid Pink Lemonade Slushie
  • Minute Maid Strawberry Watermelon Slushie
  • Fanta Orange
  • Hi-C Orange Lavaburst
  • Vanilla Shake
  • Strawberry Shake
  • Chocolate Shake
McDonald's gluten free, McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Guide 2023

Dipping Sauces

These are all of the gluten free dipping sauce options at McDonald’s.

  • Spicy Buffalo Sauce
  • Creamy Ranch Sauce
  • Honey Mustard Sauce
  • Honey
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Mayonnaise**
  • Tartar Sauce

** High risk for cross contamination unless you get mayo packets.


In 2020 McDonald’s got rid of all of their salads. While they didn’t say why I’m sure that Covid was the reason.

When McDonald’s served salads there was at least some gluten free meal options. Unfortunately that isn’t an option anymore.


These are all of the beef, and other meat options at McDonald’s that do not contain gluten ingredients. Always ask for no bun or wrap and tell them you have an gluten allergy.

McDonald's gluten free, McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Guide 2023


These are all of the gluten-free dessert options at McDonald’s.

  • Hot Fudge Mcdonald’s Sundae
  • Hot Caramel Mcdonald’s Sundae
  • McFlurry with M&M’s Candies**

** High chance for cross contamination with gluten ingredients.


The only side option that is gluten free at McDonalds is their apple slices.

McDonald's gluten free, McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Guide 2023

Mcdonalds Gluten Free Breakfast

All breakfast items at McDonald’s contain wheat/gluten, including the hash browns and the sausage McMuffin.

McCafe Beverages

These are all of the McCafe beverages at McDonald’s that do not contain gluten ingredients:

  • Caramel Macchiato
  • Iced Caramel Macchiato
  • Cappuccino
  • Caramel Cappuccino
  • French Vanilla Cappuccino
  • Mocha
  • Iced Mocha
  • Latte
  • Iced Latte
  • Caramel Latte
  • Iced Caramel Latte
  • French Vanilla Latte
  • Iced French Vanilla Latte
  • Americano
  • Famous Premium Roast Coffee
  • Iced Coffee
  • Iced Caramel Coffee
  • Iced French Vanilla Coffee
  • Caramel Frappe
  • Mocha Frappe
  • Hot Chocolate
  • Classic Strawberry Banana Smoothie
  • Mango Pineapple Smoothie
McDonald's gluten free, McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Guide 2023

McDonald’s Allergy Pages for Various Countries

Commonly asked questions ordering gluten-free at McDonald’s

Are McDonald’s chicken nuggets gluten-free?

Unfortunately the McNuggets contain wheat flour and therefore are not gluten free.

Do Mcdonald’s burgers contain gluten?

A McDonald’s hamburger, cheeseburger, Quarter Pounder®, and Big Mac® are all gluten free IF eaten without the bun. All your favorite McDonald’s burgers are made with 100% beef; so they’re not ‘beefed up’ with any cereal, rusk or flour.

Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at McDonald’s

Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at McDonald’s

  1. McDonald’s has very limited gluten-free options for people with severe gluten allergies and Celiac Disease.
  2. When you order, tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your meal.
  3. McDonald’s has different items internationally, this menu guide is just based off the US!
  4. All mccafe shakes, frappes, lattes, hot chocolate, shakes, and McDonalds smoothies are safe to enjoy!

Is the McDonald’s Shamrock Shake Gluten Free?

Yes. Milk is the only allergen listed on the McDonald’s website for the Shamrock Shake, making it gluten-free.

For more information about the shamrock shake and copycat shamrock shake recipes check out this post I wrote, “Is the McDonald’s Shamrock Shake Gluten-Free?”

Text says are McDonald’s shamrock shakes gluten free with a picture of a shamrock shake with a cherry and straw in a plastic cup that says McCafé

Are McDonald’s Fries Gluten Free?

No McDonalds fries are not gluten free as the beef flavoring in their fries contains wheat.

To learn more about the McDonald’s fries check out this post I wrote, “Are McDonald’s Fries Gluten Free?

Photo of McDonald’s fries with text that says are McDonald’s fries gluten-free?

Is McDonald’s Blueberry Pie Gluten Free?

Is McDonald’s Blueberry Pie gluten free? Quick answer: No. McDonald’s baked blueberry pie is not gluten-free as it contains wheat.

McDonald's gluten free, McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Guide 2023

What’s Keto at McDonald’s?

Are you new to the keto diet?

If you eat a keto or low carb diet here is a quick helpful menu guide I wrote highlighting all of the keto friendly menu options at McDonalds.

McDonald's gluten free, McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Guide 2023

Similar Posts


  1. I am celiac. I crave my favorite food a burger. Especially from MD. I also wanted to make sure the ice cream and shakes do not have malt in the mix as a thickener. Many do.
    Have you considered having a GF bun. There are more people than you think that are GF. Everyone I talk to has a friend or, family member who is. Just one day out I will find 5 people who have Celiac or are gluten intolerant.
    Several places have them, Red Robin, The Butter Burger Place in St. George Utah has them individually packed, chic N Fillet has , but no burger, They usually are more money, but that is ok. There is no really any fast food we can go out to.
    You could led a trend to help all the millions of Celiacs who suffer medical problems and finding food is so depressing. Thank Pam Grimes 530-275-2840

    1. Hey Pam! Yes I don’t blame you I know malt can have some gluten in it. I know that First Watch and Chick Fil A have gluten free bun options. There are a few brands in stores that I like. I’ll work on a recipe and if it comes out great I’ll let you know! There’s nothing like a delicious potato bun. A gluten free version would be amazing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *